• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 danehauser

danehauser

• Members
  • Pip
  • 40 posts

Posted 20 September 2011 - 09:10 PM

I'm a newbie and recently started a WE Select International Chilean Merlot, WE Stag's Leap Merlot, CC Red Mountain Cab and WE Gewurztraminer. Other than the Gewurz, I won't be able to enjoy the fruit of my labor for a long time so at the risk of being tempted to buy more kits, I'd like to hear what your favorites are and what it is about them that sets them apart.

Thanks!

#2 tonyt

tonyt

Veteran Wine Maker

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 374 posts
  • Interests:I've been a Butcher, a Baker and a Candlestick Maker. No joke.

Posted 20 September 2011 - 10:23 PM

I'll bite.
Petite Verdot WE Limited. Was so good early on ordered a second kit. Just came out in the International Series line, now with grape pack. Very smooth, fruit forward. Won lots of awards and I know why . . . taste!

Rosso d'Avola Mosti Mondaile Renaissance, Dark, full, excellent mouth feel.

Trapani Sicillian Syrah RJS EP, really neat kit. Came with two Hungarian Oak Staves. Juice sourced from the same Provence in Sicily that my family comes from. The wine tasted really outstanding early on and has improved since.

Valpolicella Ripasso RJS Cru Select. I questioned if the juice was really blended with Amarone raisins at crush and really doubt it. BUT the wine is very good and yes even tastes like a Ripasso. Wine is dark, thick and a bit musty just as it should be. I was pleasantly surprised with this one.

Rosso Fortisimo - with "Super Size Grape Pack" CC Linmited. Did I save the best for last? Perhaps! Anyone that has not made this kit should order it now, then you'll have something to judge all other kits by. You can't get the super size grape pack anymore but they say the regular one is just as good. Why haven't I made another one of these yet?