• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 SunDevil

SunDevil

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts

Posted 22 October 2009 - 09:10 PM

My wine club bought a reconditioned wine barrel from MoreWine last year. I remember we had problems getting it to stop leaking when we first used it. Unfortunately the club decided they didn't want the barrel anymore and I bought it for my own use. The former keeper of the barrel had it ozone treated then brought it home where it sat for 1 full day before I could get to it. I brought it home and filled it with sulfite solution and citric acid. I've been adding water to it the last several weeks but I can't seem to get it to stabalize. Since this is my first attempt to use one I have a few questions:

1. How do you repair a leaking barrel? Is it even possible?
2. How long should I keep adding water and sulfite before I call it quits and make planters out of the thing?
3. I just filled about 6 oz of solution into the barrel and its already down about a 1/4" to 1/2" below the oak. What is normal for a reconditioned barrel?

Any help or advice would be appreciated!

Thank you,
Sun Devil

#2 mokadir

mokadir

Cellar Junkie

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3073 posts

Posted 22 October 2009 - 09:50 PM

Do you see the leak? or are you just noticing the water absorbing into the wood?
Bob
2014: Red Hills Cab, Yakima Merlot, Muscato d'Asti style, Inlaws Bordeaux blend
2013 awaiting Barrel: Yakima Syrah, Gren/PS for Rhone blending
BARRELING: friends CV OV Zin 13, Inlaws Bordeaux Blend 13, Yakima Sangiovese 13
Awaiting bottle: Lake County Montepulciano 12, Yakima Pinot Noir 12

#3 SunDevil

SunDevil

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 147 posts

Posted 23 October 2009 - 09:24 AM

QUOTE (mokadir @ Oct 22 2009, 11:22 PM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
Do you see the leak? or are you just noticing the water absorbing into the wood?