• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 cbw

cbw

• Members
  • Pip
  • 73 posts

Posted 17 October 2009 - 02:16 PM

Ok, I'm new to this ... but I'm amazed at how many things I now worry about that I never even thought about before I starting making wine.

We now have two kits bottled .... 58 bottles ... (we took our time, took care to degass, etc)(as best we could with our limited newby wine making skills).

The bottles are safely stored in the basement ... but I find myself checking the bottled wine several times a day ... (and fight the urge to go down at look at it hourly).

I find myself checking the wine more often than I checked our first born child ... and worry more about the bottles than I worried when our daughter went out of her first date (not the third date).

But to make a long story short ....

There is nothing that indicates a bottle is going to leak or blow or shoot a cork across the room.

But I'm wondering ... from your vast experience ...

Is there a particular "danger" period when a calamity is apt to happen? Or can it happen anytime, anyplace.

If a cork doesn't leak in the first couple of weeks ... or a cork doesn't push out in the first month ... can I quit worrying?

Speaking of worrying ... my grandkids now play in the room with 4 or 5 carboys bubbling and aging in the same basement room. They found, and were shooting, some old "pop" guns that shoot out ping-pong balls. Gotta tell you, hearing a pop behind me gave me concern. Ha! (I know, I know, courting danger by letting the kids play in that room, but they wanted to be down with grandpa, who, you guessed it, was checking his wine.)

Over the years, I spent a lot of my money on wine, women and song ... The rest of my money, I just wasted.

#2 Fishnwine

Fishnwine

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 618 posts
  • Interests:Love to fish the Skeena river for salmon. Brew both beer and wine

Posted 17 October 2009 - 02:22 PM