• Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 nickfox45

nickfox45

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 172 posts

Posted 18 August 2009 - 03:39 PM

I'm on the verge (within a few days) of helping a friend harvest some chambourcin grapes from his small vineyard. I have some experience with fruit wines, but little with grapes. I've found a recipe online at http://winemaking.ja.../request194.asp, a site which I know many people here regard very highly.

I have a few questions about the directions in the recipe above. I'm new to malolactic fermentation, but after reading about it, it seems easy enough. Is there anything special I should know about it, or should it just be treated like regular yeast fermentation?

Am I correct that, in addition to the ingredients, I would need a way to test acidity, sulfites, and the level of MLF? I'm not sure what paper chromatography is, I'm assuming it's just a fancy way of saying those little paper slips that come in standard test kits?

Lastly, I read that for MLF to occur, the wine should be low in sulfites, but the recipe calls for adding potassium metabisulfide. What gives?

Thanks!

#2 tom sawyer

tom sawyer

Look Out Ernest & Julio

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 3724 posts
  • Interests:brewing, winemaking, soapmaking, cheesemaking: yes I'm clean smelling, flatulent, constipated and slightly inebriated

Posted 18 August 2009 - 04:10 PM

Its not metabisulfitde, its metabisulfite. And yes you add some initially, and during fermentation it gases off and gets used up, at least down to a low level that ML bacteria can handle (under 10ppm I think).

I would strongly urge you to get Pambianchi's book on winemaking. It has much more detail on all aspects of winemaking. Keller is great but his forte is in making a basic wine from anything, not the kind of specifics you want when making wine from fresh grapes. Then again I haven't seen his Chambourcin wine recipe.