4 replies to this topic

#1 eldricko

eldricko

• Members
  • Pip
  • 4 posts

Posted 24 March 2009 - 02:21 AM

Firstly a disclaimer...I'm a complete novice
Secondly a compliment...far out what a site, it took a while to get here but what a find!

I will be buying my first ever grapes this weekend, they are Seibel (a convenience more than anything) what little I can find on the web suggests they are not of the best quality for winemaking, but as it is my first season I will happily make do.

Has anyone had any experience with this variety and happy to share their perspective on its journey to a palatable drop?

Thanks
Hamish

#2 Howie

Howie

Look Out Ernest & Julio

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 4061 posts

Posted 24 March 2009 - 04:06 AM

Seibel was the name of a French grape breeder. He developed hybrids about 100 years ago to combat the phylloxera pest, a North American bug that eats grape vine roots. He crossed native American varieties with European vinefera vatieties to produce both new rootstock and direct rooting vines. He made thousands of hybrid crosses, all identified by a number. The more successful ones eventually were given varietal names, such as Chancellor, Aurore, Cascade, Chelois, Colobel, DeChaunac, Rougeon, etc. From Winegrape Glossary (link) the following Seibel varieties are listed: Seibel 14 - Seibel 123 - Seibel 405 - Seibel 1000 - Seibel 2007 - Seibel 4668 - Seibel 4986 - Seibel 5279 - Seibel 5437 - Seibel 5455 - Seibel 5474 - Seibel 5898 - Seibel 6468 - Seibel 6905 - Seibel 7053 - Seibel 8216 - Seibel 8357 - Seibel 9110 - Seibel 9549 - Seibel 10713 - Seibel 10878 - Seibel 11803 - Seibel 13035 - Seibel 13053 - Seibel 14596 - Seibel 14665.
So, to make a short answer long, I think you need to be more specific. smile.gif
Howie Hart

#3 red_feet

red_feet

Making wine since 1966

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2355 posts
  • Location:Ontario, Canada, northwest of Toronto, via Ridgeway, ON