Photo

How Long Should I Age Wine In A New 5 Gal. Oak Barrel?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Nonno Domenico

Nonno Domenico

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 February 2009 - 08:26 AM

I'm new to winemaking and have 6 gallons of Merlot kit wine in a carboy right now. I didn't want to use the oak powder that came with the kit because I have a brand new 5 gallon medium toast oak barrel I planned to age it in. (The leftover wine will age in a gallon jug with oak chips) I've read that due to the greater surface area of a 5 gal. barrel and being new, the wine may only need to be on oak 1 month. Does anyone have some experience based insight they can share as a general guideline or should I just check the wine every 2 - 3 weeks?

#2 NorthernWiner

NorthernWiner

One of the Regulars

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 9608 posts
  • Interests:Wine (of course), travel, cooking, music, photography

Posted 07 February 2009 - 12:32 PM

QUOTE (Nonno Domenico @ Feb 7 2009, 08:58 AM) <{POST_SNAPBACK}>
...I've read that due to the greater surface area of a 5 gal. barrel and being new, the wine may only need to be on oak 1 month.

Depending on the type of oak (American or French), you may be looking at as little as 1 week. I would check it every couple of days on the first use. Hopefully, you have another wine to put in the barrel when the first wine is ready to come out. Actually, you would do well two have about 3 wines sitting in the wings.

One of my barrels is a 6.5 gallon American oak. The first wine was in it for about 10 days. The 2nd wine, 3 weeks. The 3rd went in for a couple of months. The most recent wine I had in it was a Syrah. That one was a very dark, bold wine and was able to stay in the barrel for 9 months. I now have a Merlot in it that I'm fairly certain should be able to go for a year.

Steve Kroll
President, Purple Foot Winemaking Club
"41 Years of Fine Winemaking"
www.purplefoot.org

Wine a little... and you'll feel much better!