Photo

5 Gallon Glass Carboys - Cheapest Source?

• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Iowa Guy

Iowa Guy

Veteran Wine Maker

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 230 posts
  • Interests:Gardening, hunting, fishing, canoeing, backpacking, astronomy, philosophy

Posted 22 December 2006 - 11:41 AM

Hi, I'm a rookie winemaker looking to invest in a few 5 gallon carboys. There are no local winemaking supply shops out here in rural Western Iowa, so I'm looking for the best deal online. The shipping cost is pretty steep on these things, anyone found the lowest absolute price including shipping? I've checked around to all the local thrift stores and small wineries and can't find any used ones :-( Any input would be greatly appreciated... How did you build up your inventory of carboys?

Thanks,
Iowa Guy

#2 jwingo

jwingo

Look Out Ernest & Julio

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 2542 posts

Posted 22 December 2006 - 12:38 PM

I really like the better bottle plastic carboys, they cost about the same and are way lighter to ship.....Other then that you can try and see if there are any water companies that still use glass carboys.
the shipping on those things can make the price insane to buy online.
Jeff
Just another rawk star/music teacher/Financial Performance Analyst who makes wine and loves to drink.

#3 NorthernWiner

NorthernWiner

One of the Regulars

• Admin
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 9629 posts
  • Interests:Wine (of course), travel, cooking, music, photography

Posted 22 December 2006 - 01:30 PM

Hi Iowa Guy,

I can't believe there would not be a brew shop within driving distance. Do you live near any of the following cities?

Sioux Falls, SDSioux City, IA
  • Hopski's Home Brew
    523 W 19th St
    Sioux City, IA 51103
    (712) 258-0691
Des Moines, IA
  • Heartland Homebrew Supply
    1042 73rd St
    Des Moines, IA 50311
    (515) 223-7797
Omaha, NEI don't know if any of these places are still in business or not. I just pulled them off the web.

Steve