• Please log in to reply
13 replies to this topic

#1 Charlie

Charlie

• Members
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 26 March 2006 - 07:40 PM

I have been growing Cynthiana grapes for several years hoping to do as well as the wineries in Missouri who do such a great job with this grape. However, I have been disappointed so far. Are there any secrets to working with this grape?

#2 Vinomaker

Vinomaker

Look Out Ernest & Julio

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPip
  • 1166 posts
  • Interests:Winemaking, wine drinking, visiting wineries, talking wine, also hunting & fishing.

Posted 26 March 2006 - 08:00 PM

QUOTE (Charlie @ Mar 26 2006, 08:12 PM)
I have been growing Cynthiana grapes for several years hoping to do as well as the wineries in Missouri who do such a great job with this grape.  However, I have been disappointed so far.  Are there any secrets to working with this grape?

Charlie,

Welcome to the forum.
I don't grow Norton, however the local Kentucky vineyard where I buy my Norton lets them hang and hang and hang until around mid October. They are very ripe, the flavors are great, and the acids have dropped some, and they make excellent wine. The wine is very dark and rich. The winemaker where I get the grapes says the key is picking very late.
I would guess the growing area in Missouri wine country would be similar to our area.

Goodluck,

Vinomaker

#3 kyjake

kyjake

Advanced Member

• Members
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 861 posts
  • Interests:Fishing-photography-winemaking-

Posted 26 March 2006 - 11:24 PM

QUOTE (Vinomaker @ Mar 26 2006, 09:32 PM)
Charlie,

Welcome to the forum.
I don't grow Norton, however the local Kentucky vineyard where I buy my Norton lets them hang and hang and hang until around mid October. They are very ripe, the flavors are great, and the acids have dropped some, and they make excellent wine. The wine is very dark and rich. The winemaker where I get the grapes says the key is picking very late.